What day of the week was I born? Child asks Mother

Monday's Child, Family, Children

A mother is tucking in her daughter and kissing her goodnight. 

Mummy, what day of the week was I born?

Mother sighs.

It’s getting late, dear. It’s time to go to sleep.

Don’t you know what day I was born?

Of course I do. But if I tell you, you have to promise to go to sleep.

Daughter is excited.

Ok, mummy!

This is the rhyme that my own mother told me, and now I will tell it to you. 

Daughter looks up at mother in excited anticipation.

Monday’s child looks good in a hat

Tuesday’s child is a bit of a twat

Wednesday’s child is very conscientious

Thursday’s child is rather pretentious

Friday’s child speaks before he thinks

Saturday’s child is anyone’s after a few drinks

But the child that was born on the Sabbath day

Will fall asleep now 

So I can have some chardonnay 

Mother turns off the light on her daughter’s puzzled expression.

 

2 thoughts on “What day of the week was I born? Child asks Mother”

Comment to your heart's content

